

Academy Announces Annual Drama Festival results

'X-Reflection' adjudged as best production, Saraf, Tikoo as best actors

Jammu, 1st Feb. 2014

J & K Academy of Art Culture and Languages has announced results of the Annual Drama Festival, Jammu held at the Govt. College for Women Gandhi Nagar from January 10 to 24, 2014. In all, twelve plays in different languages were staged. The Jury has recommended various awards in different categories.



The play X- Reflection by Natraj Natya Kunj was adjudged the best production while the play Graed by Bhoorang Foundation has been adjudged as the 2nd best production. Abhishek Bharti was adjudged as the Best Director for the play X- Reflection.

Mr. Makhan Lal Saraf and Kusam Tikoo were adjudged as Best Actor (Male) and Best Actor (Female), respectively for the Kashmiri play "Graed. The Best Set Award went to Manoranjan Kala Kendra for the play 'Prindey Hoon Jan Ge Kithey' while Amateure Theatre Group's Junaid Kak won Best Lights award for the play Ek Aur Durghtana. The Best Costumes award was won by Pooja Datta of Natshalla for the play 'Bichoo'. Sardar Amarjeet Singh of Boorang Foundation won the Best Music for the play 'Graed''.

The Best Child Artist award was won by Divakashi for the play 'Lahore Di Chithi Ambarsar De Na of Yamni cultural Society .Mr. Manoj Damir won the Best Make-up Man for the play X-Reflection. Mr. Sunil Sharma of Amateure Theatre and Kanika Sharma of Samooh Theatre won the 2nd Best Actor (Male) and 2nd Best actresActor (Female) respectively for the play 'Ek Aur Durghtana' and 'Malika Da Khas Salahkar'.





Bimla Naqaib got the consolation prize for make-up for the play 'Faraz' while Vijay Goswami and Pooja Sharma in direction and costumes respectively for the play 'Julius Caesar' Mr. Suriender Manhas got the consolation prize in music for the play X- Reflection.

The merit certifactes in acting go to to Ravinder Sharma of Samooh Theatre for the play 'Malika Da Khas SlahKa'r, Rakesh Tickoo and Vishal Hanjura of Natya Karmi for the play 'Gadd Bateh', Rahul Kumar and Arvin Tickoo of Natshalla for the play 'Bichoo', Makhan Lal Shastri ,Dr. Rajinder Thapa, Mousmi of Manoranjan Kala Kendra for the play 'Prindey Jaan Hoon Kithey'.Balwinder, Rohitashiv and Anmol Bakaya of The Performer Group for the play 'Julius Caesar', Meenal Peer and Bimla Naqaib of Naqaib Rangmanch for the play 'Faraz', Shadi Koul of Bhoorang for the play 'Graed, Aayan Ali of Amateure Theatre Group for the play 'Ek Aur Durghtna', Akshya Razdaan and Priyanka Thakur of Natraj Nataya Kunj for the play 'X-Reflection'. Prof. Rita Jitendra, Mr Arvind Anand and Mr. Vikram sharma were the judges.

In all, 18 play scripts were received for the festival of which 12 were selected and staged.